Alaska Knit Nat

Simple Knitted Boot Cuffs

16 Comments

Don’t know how much Game of Thrones you’ve been watching, but Winter is Coming.

That means scarves and coats and mittens and boots! Knitting season is officially on so why not start off with a super simple project to give your new fall outfits a little more refinement?

Simple Knitted Boot Cuffs from Alaska Knit Nat

These boot cuffs can be made in just a couple of hours. Nothing fancy, but they are the perfect touch for those cute brown boots you’ve been waiting all summer to wear. You won’t have to worry about bulky wool socks and hot feet when your boot cuffs are peeking out.

Here’s what you need:

Bulky yarn — less than one skein
Size 10, 16-inch circular needle
Darning needle

Simple Knitted Boot Cuffs from Alaska Knit Nat

Cast on 48 stitches on your circular needle. Join the round, making sure not to twist the row.

K2, P2 around.

Repeat for 20 rounds.

Loosely cast off. Weave in ends.

Repeat for other cuff.

Wear as is or decorate with a cute button.

Easy as pie! Cute as cake?

Simple Knitted Boot Cuffs from Alaska Knit Nat

Author: alaskaknitnat

Welcome to Alaska Knit Nat! I was born and raised in Anchorage and have always had a passion for making useful things, whether they are eaten, knit, crocheted, sewn or randomly glued and assembled. I received my bachelor’s degree in French and journalism from the University of Alaska Anchorage and work almost full time at a nonprofit and way over time as a mom.

16 thoughts on “Simple Knitted Boot Cuffs

  1. is there any direction for loom knitting these?

    • I’ve never used a loom before, but I assume it would be pretty simple if you had a round knitting loom — you’re essentially knitting a tube just with knits and purls. I’m sorry I don’t have better advice for this, but thanks for taking a look at my pattern.

  2. Good Morning,

    I love this idea. I live in Oregon where it is cold and rainy and have to wear boots. Can these be knitted in a Size 10.5 Circular needles. My yarn is Bulky ( BERNAT SOFTEE CHUNKY WHICH IS 10.5 SIZE) AND DEBORAH NORVILLE’S SERENITY CHUNKY WHICH TAKES SIZE 11).

    I just have 10.5 size needles and don’t want to go buy new ones now.

    Thank you very much. Maybe I can knit them while watching DANCING WITH THE STARS.

    Hope to hear from you.

    • Hi Rita,
      These could easily be knit on size 10.5 needles. I would consider casting on 44 stitches instead of 48. Good luck and enjoy Dancing With the Stars! Thanks for commenting.
      -Natasha

  3. Hi Natasha,

    Sorry to bother you again but I have a Size 11, Circular needle ( 16 inch) and I was wondering if that will work. How many stitches would I need? Thank you.

    • Rita,
      I would still try 44 stitches. If they end up being a little loose, hopefully your boot will be able to keep them in place. Luckily it’s a short project that uses only a small amount of yarn so if you finish one and decide it’s too big, knit two more with just 40 stitches. The next time I make a pair I’ll try it with size 11 and let you know how it goes.
      Good luck!
      -Natasha

  4. I was wondering if you could cable knit these boot cuffs? I am just learning how to cable knit. Would you have to cast on more stitches?

  5. Thank you for this quick and easy pattern. It will make a great gift for those that require a little something. [Granddaughters friends]

  6. Happy New Year Natasha,

    Today I bought 1 SKEIN of PERUVIA QUICK yarn and I was wondering how many stitches would I need and what size needle?

    Thank you so much.

  7. Hi Natasha,

    I made these leg warmers with Red Heart Super Savers worsted weight yarn in heather gray. They are super cute! I really feel like a million bucks in them. I wear them with both jeans and black leggings. I think they make my fat calves look slimmer and my legs straighter. Thanks for the great pattern!

    For other knitters, I used size 8 circulars and had to cast on 60 st, but that’s because I couldn’t join the circle with fewer stitches, not because it would have been too small. In fact, since this is all ribbing, which is extremely stretchy, I suspect any number of stitches in the ballpark of 50 would fit you. Just keep trying it on as you cast on.

    So I have a question for you. What do you do with these when you have to take your boots off, like when you enter someone’s house? I think I look kind of stupid with a band of fabric just hanging in the middle of my calves, but I also look stupid taking them off :\

    • Hi Anita,
      Thanks for your great comments! I usually take the cuffs off and stuff them in my boots when I go into people’s houses, like how you’d take off mittens when coming inside.
      I’m glad you like the pattern,
      Natasha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers